Tuesday, December 9, 2008

The Greatest Cricketers of the Modern Era

Here are a list of some of the greatest players to grace the game of cricket. The players selected have been chosen by their quality and records.

The Following Cricketers are the Best of the Modern Era:-


01) Shane Warne
02) Sachin Tendulkar
03) Muttiah Muralitharan
04) Brian Lara
05) Wasim Akram
06) Glenn McGrath
07) Ricky Ponting
08) Jacques Kallis
09) Curtly Ambrose
10) Waqar Younis
11) Adam Gilchrist
12) Courtney Walsh
13) Steve Waugh
14) Inzamam-ul-Haq
15) Rahul Dravid
16) Sourav Ganguly
17) Mohammad Yousuf
18) Allan Donald
19) Andy Flower
20) Shaun Pollock
21) Matthew Hayden
22) Aravinda de Silva
23) Anil Kumble
24) Sanath Jayasuriya
25) Michael Bevan

Notable Exclusions:-

01) Chaminda Vaas
02) Chris Cairns
03) Gary Kirsten
04) Mohammed Azharuddin
05) Saeed Anwar
06) Stephen Fleming
07) Nathan Astle
08) Jonty Rhodes
09) Alec Stewart
10) Marvan Atapattu
11) Mark Waugh


  • Greatest Batsman: Sachin Tendulkar
  • Greatest ODI Batsman: Sachin Tendulkar
  • Greatest Test Batsman: Brian Lara
  • Greatest Bowler: Muttiah Muralitharan
  • Greatest ODI Bowler: Wasim Akram
  • Greatest Test Bowler: Shane Warne n Muttiah Muralidaran
  • Greatest Fielder: Jonty Rhodes
  • Greatest All-Rounder: Jacques Kallis
  • Greatest ODI Captain: Ricky Ponting
  • Greatest Test Captain: Steve Waugh
  • Greatest ODI Batting Pair: Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly
  • Greatest Test Batting Pair: Steve Waugh and Ricky Ponting
  • Greatest ODI Bowling Pair: Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis
  • Greatest Test Bowling Pair: Curtly Ambrose and Courtney Walsh/Glenn McGrath and Shane Warne

  • Australia: Shane Warne
  • Bangladesh: Mohammed Rafique
  • England: Alec Stewart
  • India: Sachin Tendulkar
  • New Zealand: Stephen Fleming
  • Pakistan: Wasim Akram
  • South Africa: Jacques Kallis
  • Sri Lanka: Muttiah Muralidaran
  • West Indies: Brian Lara
  • Zimbabwe: Andy Flower

    If you are not happy with the selection of the cricketers then feel free to express your opinion by leaving a comment on this post/article.

    Players in Quest of Achieving Greatness:
    01) Michael Clarke
    02) Mike Hussey
    03) Virender Sehwag
    04) Shivnarine Chanderpaul
    05) Graeme Smith
    06) Brett Lee
    07) Kumar Sangakkara
    08) Kevin Pietersen
    09) Andrew Flintoff
    10) Chris Gayle
    11) Andrew Symonds
    12) Makhaya Ntini
    13) Ramnaresh Sarwan
    14) Mahela Jayawardene
    15) Herschelle Gibbs

  • No comments: